Worst artwork for every Pokemon artist? Analysis of artists fails

Cool artwork get all the love, but I’d like to do a little analysis on the worst art from any TCG artist.
What are the worst in your opinion?

Inspired by @xileets collection, I’m starting with Arita sensei. As a wannabe artist myself, I respect mitsuhiro god level skills, but even gods sometimes fail.

I can’t be too harsh on base set/jungle/fossil arita, but we must admit that his skills were still improving and “catching flies” charmeleon is at least weird looking lol. But iconic card, and beautiful painted background so is a 5/10 to me.

_

Ex era arita is excellent, but I notice problems when he illustrates ex cards. This is not an easy task, and a lot of these look bad imho. Ryo Ueda is the only (in my opinion) that has really understood the spirit of these, and set the gold standard. So “clip art” dustox gets a 5/10

_

Microcephalic Raichu? 3/10. We’ll discuss later the struggle between Arita and Pika family lol

_

This looks Exploud to you? Really weird anatomy and perspective not helping. Materials look like some kind of playdoh. It also reminds me of those toys/surprises inside 90s snacks idk. 3/10

_

Same problems with “latex” luxray. 5/10

_

Good composition and ok anatomy. It has also a cool old style vibe (it reminds me a bit of bs rattata). So, where is the problem? That disturbing peck is bothering me so much. It breaks the eye silhouette, but the brown part is still following the pupil shape. It creates a sharp point of interest that disturbs the vision of the whole artwork. I… can’t… stop… looking that. 6/10 because It’s not a big mistake.

_

Another proof that hgss era is artistic low point of the tcg? Even arita looks bad. It really made me think that there is some kind of active art direction that didnt end too well. Lol, that “floating” umbreon doesn’t even have a shadow 4.5/10
“Sperm cell” dragonair gets 4.5/10 too.

_