Card savers / binders

I had two quick questions. I’m relatively new to collecting but have a good grasp. Outside of PSA cards I’m trying to do some near mint raw sets. The ultra pro binders I see recommend, do you think they are a good option to keep the cards in good shape? Any pointers?

Secondly I have now purchased card savers the gold ii twice now and they are always warped and bent… never straight. Anyone else have that ?

Thank you for your time!!

Most people will swear by Card Savers but I hate them. I’ve always used toploaders and can’t recall ever having an issue with them. That being said, I only used toploaders when doing sales, trades, or the very rare grade.

When it comes to binders, Ultra Pro is one of the top contending lines. I highly recommend their stuff. However, my favorite binders are Legion Dragon Hide Binders. Solid build, great quality, and an amazing overall look.

5 Likes

Card Savers are what you need for professional grading. It’s easy for a card to be wiggled in something like a toploader during shipping, so a card saver is ideal for shipping a card that is potentially worth hundreds or thousands of dollars.

But if you’re not planning on getting cards professionally graded, I think some of the nicer binders like the ultra pros and the dragon hides are really nice. It’s just a really nice presentation and keeps your cards in good shape, unlike the 3-ring binders which can bend your cards (the 3-ring binders are still totally fine for your less expensive cards).

And if you want to have cards displayed individually but don’t want them professionally graded then toploaders are just fine.

1 Like

I’m a binder collector and use the Ultra Pro binders, haven’t had any issues.

I love the Legion Dragon Hide binders. They offer great protection and look better than the rest.

2 Likes