An Artist's Journey with Pokemon - Versy's Fan Art Thread

I’m an artist that’s been drawing pokemon from the very beginning when I was a kid in 1998 after getting my copy Pokemon Red. I wanted to catalogue a few of my favorite pieces I’ve drawn over the years and how my approach to drawing them has changed.

I started out with pencil and paper, no color. That was the majority of how I drew. Here’s a drawing of my Pokemon Red team and all their names. Unfortunately I deleted my save in high school (stupid), but they’ll live on in memory.

Now here’s my Silver team! Keep in mind this was all pre-internet access so any reference material for the drawings had to come from player’s guides, box art, TCG art, or in-game sprites.

This one is titled “Where Is the Love?” after the BEP song and inspired by the first and second movies. This was during the height of music videos on TV and so a lot of pokemon art I did was mashed up with popular music at the time.

2005?

Don’t have the exact date on this one but I’m guessing it was in the later gens hence “the classics”. I already thought they were “classics!!” Little did I know how much farther the series would go.

2006?

eevee and others
I started getting into anime around this era and you can sort of tell by the shading I started implementing.

I got a hand-me-down laptop and was able to make the move into digital art. I didn’t own a mouse or a drawing tablet so you can see the lines are very shaky as I was drawing with a touch pad.

My pencil art improved quite a bit during high school, my digital art would be last to catch up. I still think this one is pretty awesome!

By now my digital art had improved and I got a drawing tablet! As you’ll notice, the lines are a lot cleaner because of this.

Now here’s where my art took a dark turn… I started doing these weird…semi-realistic semi-cartoony drawings. I hate it now looking back LOL, they’re so creepy.