A Guide to Understanding Shadowless Theme Decks

DISCLAIMER

I am no expert or ex WOTC employee so my findings here are solely based on some critical thinking and gathering of information. Please don’t open your sealed product because you thought I said it was a good idea. I also do not own any of the images posted here. They were taken from miscellaneous websites and ebay postings for informational purposes.

With the recent discovery of the no damage Ninetales in a brushfire theme deck I got the urge to do some research in an attempt to find a correlation with the types of theme deck packaging and shadowless cards within them.

I was hoping to find at least 100 examples of openings to get a good sample size but through all of my research I only managed to find 63 (not including gold strips). So if you have theme decks that you have opened (and are not already on youtube) please add your info here and I will adjust the findings. Even with just 63 examples I found a decent bit of correlation and I’m hoping this thread will continue to grow and we will get more consistent info.

VARIANTS

First, the different variations. From my research I confirmed 4 types of packaging for the English base set theme decks. The variations come in the form of the cellophane wrap and whether it contains the gold pull tab or not, the image on the back of the box with the 3 cards and the damage counters, and the list of contents on the back of the box, particularly the “damage counters” line.

The 1st variant has a very easy to spot gold line around the top of the box. This is the only indicator currently known to guarantee a shadowless deck. If we look at the back of the box, the middle card in the trio is always placed in front or on top of the two energy cards, the list will always say “10 damage counters” and the damage counters will always be present in the photo.