Why are 'Waifu' cards so expensive?

I see a recent jpn uptrend in modern FA trainers are easily hitting the thousand dollar range in a PSA 10… What makes the Waifu cards so wanted, specifically in japanese? I’m new to the japanese market so would love to learn what makes these FA trainers so special especially comparing to english which are fractions of the jpn price

1 Like

From what I’ve read, some sets that have these certain cards were printed less, and also some of the cards were only printed in Japanese compared to English or another language. In addition, they’re just popular characters usually and people like the artwork.

1 Like

T&A

6 Likes

-takes notes

I see thank you, did not know they were short printed

Should take short printing with lots of salt.

People in English still believe ‘alt arts’ are rarer than full arts.

Some even believe each card has a different pull rate.

Theres no way people actually believe that right?

What happened to posting once a month on the forum

1 Like

Japanese full art trainer cards are Secret Rares whereas in English a full art trainer is just an “okay” pull. I don’t feel like diving into the psychology of waifu collectors beyond that lol

1 Like

sorry idk what that means

Oh i did not know they were considered scr and english is just fa, thought they were very similar in pull rate. And yeah I wonder what the psychology of that is

In Japan each set gets about a month to 2 months before the next one is released, so that probably plays a role in sets not being printed as much. Why do large prints if you have a new set coming out in a few weeks ya know. English just prints the set until it stops breathing.

Additionally, the way they do secret rares in Japanese is different than English, so you may get 1 secret a box while english you can luck out with multiple (and FA trainers and FA pokemon V arent even considered secrets)

1 Like

Cos the hobby is filled with borderline pedos

8 Likes