Who else collects Holos or is it just me?

Hi E4,
I’ve been collecting Holos and putting them in my binder since 2014. Yesterday I went to my local card game shop and saw people’s binders had pages upon pages of EX, GX, V, etc and not a single Holo in sight. Do you have a binder full of Holos too? If not, that’s alright as people have different ways of collecting.

1 Like

No it’s just you

14 Likes

Are you asking if people still collect regular set holos or if they only collect full arts and secret rares? Is that your question?

Obviously people still collect set holos. Children are probably more inclined towards full arts and secret rares because those are the most exciting cards to them.

just you – i actually toss every holo i pull

1 Like

what?

3 Likes

Holos used to be the chase card so everyone collected them. Ever since Full Art, V, VMax, EX, GX, Alt Arts, Secret Rares, etc, became the chase cards, most don’t want to primarily collect what is essentially shiny bulk.

Since Pokemon collecting is so big, of course there are going to people that collect holos, reverse holos, BREAKs and just full sets in general.

The majority want the chase cards though, so that’s what you’re mostly going to see in binders.

I have two large binders where I collect and store all my holofoils post e-reader, plus all my reverse holos. I used to have them in a box but keeping them sorted into a binder makes it fun to go back and look at what I have.

1 Like

I still can’t tell if OP is a troll or not.

Pretty much everyone who collects WotC collects holos. It changes once you get to people who collect post-WotC sets. Many EX Series collectors just collect exs and/or gold stars. I do happen to collect regular holos for the early EX Series sets (in addition to exs, of course), but my impression is that most people just go for the exs. I imagine it’s even moreso the case for modern that people just collect the higher rarities.

3 Likes