To Grade or Not to Grade (Anyone have experience in PSA?)

Just opened a Unbroken Bonds box I bought for 10 bucks and got lucky with a full art Green’s Exploration.

Now the card is worth 200-300 US dollars if graded at PSA 10 and I got it right from the box into a sleeve.

PSA 9 drops the price drastically: ~40-60 US dollars

Now look at this close-up of the card I took: imgur.com/gallery/RraRtIn

Yeah, I got unlucky and it came slightly dented right out of the box (on the hair).

I am completely new to grading stuff-- I have a bunch of vintage pokemon cards that I want to get graded but not 20, the amount needed to send in for grading-- so I was wondering whether that ding has taken me out of the running for a PSA 10 card. Keep in mind that the card, otherwise, has no scratching, no whitening, sufficiently centered, and straight from pack to sleeve.

Even if it hasn’t, does anyone have insight on whether I should hold or sell the card? It is from the Unbroken Bonds set which I still found at my local walmart so I can’t see the price increasing.

If the grader catches it, an indent leads to an automatic 6. No matter how mint it is otherwise.
Should you sell the card? Well, that’s obviously on you. Make sure to disclose the damage if you do so!
Will it increase/decrease in the future? Your guess is as good as anyone’s.

In my opinion this is a prime example of a perfect binder card. Basically flawless eye-appeal but hardly worth grading :blush:

2 Likes

Hard to tell if that’s actually a dent or not.

If it is, you have no chance of getting a 10 if the grader notices it. Most people get absolutely hosed thinking their cards are all PSA 10 condition on their first submission.