ThatPikachuGuy's Non-TCG Pokémon Collection

Aside from set binders and Pikachu cards; I also collect Pokémon merchandise/promotional items/sealed toys/video games/other items - as well as Pikachu plush/figures and I wanted to start a thread to share some of it

I know this forum is majority card collectors and I will eventually create a thread to share my cards too; but I recently obtained one of my top 3 non-TCG grails so it felt like the right time to start this one!

This is a complete Wal-Mart store display for the VHS release of Pokémon: The First Movie

I have been hunting this for over 5 years and I am very thrilled to finally add it to my collection room! I only know of a couple others and not a single other that is as complete as mine filled with all of the tapes w/ original box + instruction sheet.

I found the top section of this display at a flea market way back in 2017, and since then I have been scouring for a complete one. The one I finally managed to find was brand new, never assembled, still in it’s orginal box - the previous owner had had it sitting in their garage since their dad had saved it from a Wal-Mart dumpster in 2000. Crazy to hear the stories that come along with some items.

Hopefully some of you enjoy hearing about the things I collect - thanks for visiting my thread!

21 Likes

Wow that movie display is unreal!! If you ever find another I’ll pay a finders fee. That is such a cool item! :sunglasses:

5 Likes

I will certainly always be on the lookout for another one!

1 Like

This is incredible. We really need a museum of Pokemon promotional material and memorabilia from the 1990s and 2000s!

1 Like

I agree! It’s sad how few Pokémon promotional items seem to be preserved.

A permanent museum for Pokémon would be fantastic; I’d love to be involved in some kind of temporary exhibit though

3 Likes