My take on investing in modern sets & a theory

Just rewatched Pratte’s investing in modern video, now I’m no expert, I’ve been collecting passively since around 2005, and here is my take on modern.

The market has flattened out but it is still up a tremendous amount before, Pokemon is only 26 years old and we’ve never seen an influx in new collectors since the Logan Paul era. In theory, we really do not know what is going to happen, but now since so many people are on edge about collecting and investing into Pokemon I feel like we’re coming to a turning point.

I noticed the panic to buy Eevee Heroes as soon as supply ran somewhat low, I saw prices around $180-$190? then when the reprint came they dipped back down to $145. The sheer hype for this set and Evolving Skies and how “quickly” those prices rose leads me to believe that the second SWSH goes completely out of print will show what the market is really going to look like going into the future.

Pratte talks about how Evolutions took 4 years to move, we also have to take into account that it took 4 years to move because nobody was investing in Pokemon like they are now. VMax Climax boxes & ES/EH are already moving with the market. When Japanese yen dropped so did VMax Climax boxes.

To conclude, I believe that there could be another investing frenzy once SWSH goes out of print and Scarlett & Violet is introduced. One of three things I believe to happen, we see a quick increase in price causing people to realize modern can be invested in and all of a sudden everyones heavily investing because they see modern miraculously increasing in price. OR we see a steady increase and wait for a potential boom for the 30th anniversary of pokemon where we could see an influx in scalpers. Lastly although I highly doubt this would happen, modern stays at an average price such as ES only going for $180-200 for awhile, which I do not think is possible.