Let's talk about it... bubble burst or seasonal lul?

So I’m sure he’s not news to a lot of you. We had a PSA 8 1st ed sell for 2600 last night. It was thin stamp and looked like a weak 8 in my oppinion but still. I’ve been gathering my zard collection for the last year and have made some super good buys and some good sells. Unfortunate the last cards I needed were the big ones and I bought high but hey that’s okay. It happens. The 8 I bought is so clean it’s cleaner than most of my 9’s. I don’t usually send 8’s in for review but this one I will. + It’s thick stamp. I was able to make a few dollars on one of the others I bought as well. (Maybe I’m trying to make myself feel better) . . But DAMN 2600? I hope people hold off on the supply right now for a bit. Or that everybody’s stretched for Christmas and just couldn’t afford more. What are your thoughts?? Like I said this is my first year collecting since I was a kid, so I haven’t braved many winters.

Is there anything anyone can say to convince anyone that thinks it’s a bubble burst that it’s not, or that thinks it’s not a bubble burst that it is?

When prices increase, “is this a bubble?” When prices decrease, “is this a bubble?” - people since 1999

10 Likes

Not even close to a burst bubble… just a normal fluctuation. Sometimes eBay auctions close low during the holidays. It’s relatively normal. Also a slight increase in PSA 8 saturation since Dec 5th.

2 Likes

Good to know! Thanks for that!

1 Like

Anyone on here who’s into data analytics and happen to have modeled overall sale of pokemon cards or specific cards over time, or anyone on here who’s kept meticulous records of past sales over time? They’d be the best bet to answer a question like this.

1 Like

That would be helpful. I have a lot of respect for the members on here who are into that. It would be time consuming! And you’d have to have a real passion for this hobby as a whole.