Japanese Pokemon Cards

So I’m a complete rookie. I need a full break down on Japanese Pokemon Cards. 1. Is Japanese E Series Holo’s and Gold Stars cheaper or about the same or more expensive. I know it might vary. 2. Besides ebay or being in Japan what is some big name sites that have good stock of old back Japanese cards? 3. 1st editions are worth more like in English or less (this is normally a no brainier but I’ve heard people say unlimited is rarer) All help and guidance is greatly appreciated I have been doing some research but I’m having difficulty finding solid answers

Generally, Japanese set cards are cheaper than the English counterpart, mainly due to popularity differences. I have slowly been putting together a Japanese e series (E1-5) binder holo set over the lat year or so, and currently have 6 cards left to find. Many of them can be picked up for cheap at various auctions, but the more popular ones are more expensive to get, although still cheaper than the English versions. It is very clear that the Japanese e-series, especially E4 and E5 are a lot more rare than any of the old back sets (base to neo 4). Regarding 1st edition on Japanese cards, I don’t really care. Most of my cards are 1st edition which suggest that unlimited versions are more rare. E1 specifically did not have an unlimited print run.

3 Likes