How to ship cost efficiently?

I am new to the reselling cards game (and ebay in general), so I based my shipping costs off other auctions I saw. When I got to the post office, each bubble mailer ended up being $3, which is more than I charged and more than pretty much all other similar auctions. Is there a cheaper way to ship singles? I heard bubble mailer was pretty much standard, but the same articles I read that advised bubble mailers said that shipping would cost a good deal less than $3 per. Thanks!

Buy your bubble mailers somewhere like Walmart, that’s what I do. I spent $3.00 for a 10 pack of bubble mailers last week at Ocean State Job Lot which was even cheaper than I usually pay at Walmart.

For non-standard sized mailers I generally reuse mailers or boxes that I receive in the mail rather than go out and buy a fresh box for every purchase, too expensive.

If you buy large envelopes and use recycled cardboard inserts as a splint you will cut costs tremendously from bubble mailer pricing. I also opt for bubble wrap in between the cardboard and the item but this too can often be recycled.

The ultimate cost effective shipping is to simply cut large enough recycled cardboard pieces for your splint to completely clamp around the card making your own envelope essentially. If using this method I’d recommend at least wrapping the item in some kind of paper, bubble wrap, or plastic on the inside of the cardboard.

For these methods tape will be needed so if you buy supplies from a store make sure to price match from online sources if the store will allow you too. Places like Office Depot mark everything way high so you’ll definitely want to utilize their price match system.

I’m sure there are plenty of other ideas out there as well.