Charizard Gold Star Price Trends

As I’ve been interested in this card for awhile I’ve been watching the market pretty closely and noticed a ridiculously quick increase in prices for this card.

I’ve graphed the price trends of sold listings of English PSA 9 Charizard Gold Stars here, confirmed by watchcount.com:

Just over the last few months this card has gone from $375 in April to $675 in July in PSA 9. And that $675 sale wasn’t an outlier, this card has been consistently climbing over the past few months. Most of these card have been at BIN or Best Offer, but even so there is a consistent amount of people lining up to buy them at higher prices.

PSA 10s have also been increasing ridiculously fast. The last three sales iirc have been 1.5k, 1.8k, and 2.2k all in the space of a few months.

So my question is, are we seeing another gold star bubble or should we all hoard our Charizard stars ASAP?

2 Likes

I’m only a beginner so my opinion doesn’t really count but… I would say it’s a bubble

I actually don’t think it’s a bubble…PSA 9 prices for certain Gold Star cards have been climbing in general in the past year or so, and a lot of it just has to do with scarcity/availability…GS Charizards, those from the EX Deoxys set, EX Team Rocket Returns sets, etc…those in PSA 9-10 make an appearance on eBay/the open market only a handful of times a year and the frequency is decreasing with each passing month as more and more (new) collectors snatch up whatever is made available quickly…

I bought a PSA 9 Gold Star Pikachu for $150 9-10 months ago and I wouldn’t have a problem selling it for like $400 now…it’s crazy!

My thoughts on this: