Can anyone identify my white cards?

Hey guys! I’ve owned these white pokemon cards for a few years now and no one online can ID them. Does anyone know the origin of them, or where they came from? This is my first time on here so I hope my images got uploaded :slight_smile: any help is appreciated! thanks!

7 Likes

Hey there and welcome to our community!

These are always hard to research because basically the only key words you can search with are cards and Pokémon, which just returns the actual TCG.

If they’re an official release, I’m sure somebody here has seen them.

Hi!! And thank you for the welcome :^) I completely understand with the search thing… it does become tedious at times lol

I did also come across a sticker set that has the same art and copyright from 1998. The stickers are also white and say “gotta catch 'em all”. I wonder if they came from a promo set involving that…? It’s just weird how the internet has nothing documented for these cards XD

1 Like

Can’t be more helpful, but the game data makes me want to associate it with a magazine like Nintendo Power or a walkthrough, but looking at Nintendo Power and Prima Games stuff doesn’t bring up anything. The levels on the Butterfree card suggest it has to be a Red/Blue and not a Yellow associated product, since learnsets/level up moves were tweaked between RB and Yellow.

Another option could be some promotion pack in for a food product, since I kinda can’t see a magazine/book with non perforated cards.

Those stickers you mention are probably the press kit stickers, however I don’t think these cards came with the press kit since both Poliwhirl and Gengar have non finalized names on the stickers. The art is all early stock art too, so hard to make any leads of that.

3 Likes