1st Edition Gym Heroes Authenticity

Please delete if not allowed

Hey guys, I am wondering if you guys have any thoughts on the authenticity of this booster box? I am getting it from a seller who also owns supposedly a real EX Deoxys and 1st edition base booster box from Facebook. We are trading it for some of my sealed old ETBs.

The wrap looks beat up around the edges which is a good sign to me, but I am no expert so I thought I may consult you all. Thank you so much!

In the current market, there is no good reason to buy a box that looks even remotely dubious. There are plenty of boxes that check all cases, from trusted sources.

This box has seam lines on 2 of the 4 sides with what I would call a dart on top of the Magnemite side. Never seen anything like that. Hard pass. Also, the Graveler side looks like a typical reseal, with excess material and a thick, waggy line.

Looking more closely, the stamps also look off. They’re the international type with the curvy “s”, but they take elements from the USA type, such as a greater distance between the star and the “i” and some letters. There’s no recorded sale of a Gym Heroes box with international stamps.

2 Likes

Like boble said - wouldn’t touch this box.

I concur, doesn’t look right.

I’d expect that people with half a million dollar collections dont usually trade wotc boxes for modern etbs

3 Likes

while the thickness can vary, the graveler side looks uber suspicious, i wouldn´t touch that. i have a few genuine heroes boxes lying around here and they all have straight seals.

1 Like