Which set do you see becoming the next Skyridge in 5 years?

I realize the future is always uncertain, but which set do you guys think may surprise in terms of popularity in the next couple years? IIRC Skyridge was done in the waning years of WoTC and it drifted down in the very affordable range until recently. It also was WoTC’s last set so it had that factor going for it.

I generally collect older sets, and it seems that the valuable ones are usually ones with secret rares that have had a limited print. I don’t have as much expertise in newer sets so am just curious.

Honestly i dont even know if anyone can be sure Skyridge will be what Skyridge is now in 5 years. Things can change fast.

1 Like

Steam Seige is a sleeper of a set.

16 Likes

Not sure about the next 5 years. But I’m pretty sure that whatever Ultra Shiny GX turns into for the English release, it’ll have steep prices in the years to come.

I’ve been selling loose base set 2 packs for about 9 months now, hundreds of them…and laugh if you want but those have seen significant increases in that time I went from selling packs for $20-25 to $40. Anything can happen.

HeartGold SoulSilver Base… purely from my bias that they’re the best video games in the franchise. :blush:

2 Likes

HGSS block does have a magic to it, the art style captures the feel of Johto and gen 2 as a whole. Wouldn’t be surprised if sealed stuff from this era starts to tick up in the next few years.

FRLG.

7 Likes

That’s actually the second time I’ve heard Steam Siege mentioned. Anything special about it? Was it only printed for a short while?