What is something new you have learned in the hobby in 2018?

Hey guys,

I think that part of reason why I love this hobby is because there is always something new to learn. Although my obsession with Pokemon started in 1999 as a 5th grader when my mom bought me the Base Set starter deck, I’m relatively new to the hobby having had taken a 17 year break and coming back with the inception of Pokemon Go. I only discovered efour about 5 months ago after having discovered Smpratte on youtube about a year ago which I think really got me into a lot of different areas of collecting. I am genuinely grateful for the knowledge that everyone shares through different mediums because it gives me new energy, excitement, and goals to set.

So my question is: Name/List/or Describe something new that you have learned about Pokemon cards in 2018. It could be about a specific card, print, set, release, illustrator, etc. I will list three of the many that I have learned about this year, and I know some of this might be common knowledge among some of the veteran collectors. I hope that this will be fun and also present an opportunity to learn about some unique Pokemon facts within niche areas of the hobby.

1- For me, something exciting that I learned about was the 1999-2000 Fossil Australian print. At first I thought that the author of the article was talking about the Base Set UK 4th print…which I found out later was actually the 8th print (please correct me if that is wrong). After finding that these Australian Fossil 1999-2000 cards existed, I went through a box of doubles and was happy to pull out 5 cards with this print (Golduck, Articuno, Zapdos, Raichu, and Energy Search). This was really exciting to me because I really thought I had the WOTC era prints down and this knowledge info kind of blew my mind.