PSA Damaged 50+ Yu-Gi-Oh

I am fairly new to submitting to PSA and live in the UK. In total I have sent around 500 cards and in general only had a handful of cards I thought were really badly graded.

I finally had some time over the holiday to give the cards a better look and found around 50-100 cards that have been graded 9-10 that have a sort of square imprinted on the cards. Obviously this must have happened through the grading process and after speaking to the 3rd party to submit these they reckon it happens more than you think with Yu-Gi-Oh cards.

I guess two questions from me:
• How likely is it that PSA will accept they caused the damage?
• What happens when there are no comps for the cards?

Examples of cards:

1 Like

Welcome here! Thanks for posting pictures of the cards.

To me, this looks like imperfections in the plastic PSA case and not anything that is on the card itself. I’ve seen these similar squares a lot on PSA-graded cards from the last couple years.

I don’t think PSA would compensate you in any way for this. You could opt to pay to have the cards reholdered, but you may just get the same issue again.

4 Likes

Agree with @fourthstartcg , in addition here an older thread documenting the square flakes: White particles in half of PSA cases bought from eBay - #38 by jabby

2 Likes

I posted a thread about having one of these little squares in my case too! I was told it’s just part of the plastic casing and that it’s nothing to worry about. :slight_smile:

Here is my thread: What is this blemish? How did this card get a 10?

1 Like

Thank you so much. I’ve been taking photos and circling the issues thinking I would be in a painful battle back and fourth.

I got a PSA 10 Silent Magician that when I saw what I thought was damage I was gutted. How about what seems to be a plastic bit that has come off on this card. Would they reholder this for free?