PSA 9 with whitening???

imgur.com/gallery/S0f8Sjn
I bought this PSA 9 shining magikarp off ebay and it clearly has a bit of whitening on the back. Was I scammed or are 9’s allowed to have a certain amount of whitening?

Oh God… Lol

9 Likes

Sorry if this is dumb I guess, but I’m new to collecting and everywhere I look online says psa 9s dont have any whitening

1 Like

No its OK. We all start somewhere :blush:

PSA 9s can have some whitening, edge dings, and Holo scratches. That’s why it was given a 9 and not a 10.

9s can also vary alot so just be diligent when buying them :blush:

3 Likes

It’s not a dumb question, but you certainly were not scammed. It could just be a lower end 9. I have come across some 9s that have way too much whitening IMO but somehow they achieved a 9. You also have to keep in mind that grading is completely subjective. It very well may have received an 8 from another grader. I try to avoid listings that do not show the back of the card or just ask the seller for a picture. Buy the card, not the case.

1 Like

This one I sent in myself. It also has a minute crease in the top border. Still came back mint 9

1 Like

Where is the whitening?

2 Likes

imgur.com/gallery/rgogBLM
Here’s some better pics, you can see the white speck in the 2nd pic but I definitely think you guys are right and it’s a legit 9. Thank you!

Thank you for the example, that helped a lot. I definitely think mine’s a legit 9 now

I’d say your PSA 9 is a strong one, probably got the 9 because of the front and not the back.

2 Likes

You will be surprised how much whitening on the back some 9s can have. That is clean compared to some 9s.

Yes, of course they can have whitening.

I would deem this even perfectly acceptable for a PSA 10, given that the front is perfect and centering is good.

PSA 10 is simply a very nicely looking card, I don’t put more value onto it.

Maybe a BGS 10 Pristine can come close to a guarantee of having no whitening though.

2 Likes