New One Piece TCG announced, anybody excited?

The new one piece TCG was announced a couple days ago. I’m a big one piece fan so I’m super excited (been reading it for about 16 years now). I’ve been tempted to buy some boxes of the old One Piece card game but for some reason it just does not resonate with me. They haven’t really revealed many of the cards for this new set but I like the direction they’re going with the artwork.

I’m thinking about preordering a couple Japanese boxes and a bunch of American boxes (when I can), but I am worried about how they’re going to translate Zoro’s name. If it’s “Zolo” I’ll probably just stick to the JP boxes.

One Piece never really seemed to take off in America, at least in my experience. If you’re not in America, how popular is it in your country? Do you think it has any chance of becoming a commonly played card game if the core game is good? I’m pessimistic about it’s chances of actually seeing much play in America.

I work in a school, and anime is very popular, but I’ve never seen a single student watching or talking about One Piece here. They always seem to watch Naruto, Haikyuu, Jujitsu Kaisen, and Attack on Titan. The card shops I’ve frequented usually have anime lovers but I’ve only met One Piece fans playing board games or tabletop rpgs for some reason.

Why would they translate Zoro as Zolo? Ignoring the fact that Zoro is already an established name and character in English, that’s what the localization team’s job is. They don’t just take the origin language and then run it through google translate and print it

2 Likes

I don’t know if TCGs based on anime really work, unless the anime already has a card game in the actual lore (like with Yugioh). I remember Naruto was extremely popular back in 2006-2007 when I was in middle school, but that didn’t stop the Naruto CCG from failing.