Instagram Folks Aren't Your Friends and Family

I’m relatively new to buying cards directly from sellers off Instagram. Thankfully I have never been “scammed”, yet. But I see a lot of scam warning posts followed by a lengthy story, complete with convo screenshots.

I get 4-10% eBay fees suck. But trying to avoid paying 3% under PayPal “Goods and Services” for even for the highest or lowest end cards is not worth giving up your final layer of protection as a buyer. It’s called “Friends and Family” for a reason. Most of the scams occur after a relationship has been established so buyers get too comfortable with sellers due to the return business.

Although we like to think the best of people, especially considering our hobby of collecting cards with cute animals on them, you still need to protect yourself. Whenever a seller asks for F/F I just request they add the 3% to the agreed price. I also ask for a detailed description of each individual card with PSA cert number on the invoice. If I get any sort of weird vibe from the seller I even ask for them to attach front and back pictures of the cards in the invoice as well. Peace of mind is worth that, all day every day.

This extends to trading as well. There’s no such thing as trading on eBay for a reason. It’s too hard to regulate so just don’t do it.

Anyways just my thoughts! If you’re new to the Instagram game then hopefully this was useful.

15 Likes

Yes totally agree

I agree, if you want to buy off Instagram or anyone else you don’t have an established relationship with (years), always use goods and services. I also include a description in the notes of what it is I am purchasing, just in case. If the seller has any issues with you doing so, even after you offer to cover any fees, simply stay the F away.

Most-all of the individuals we banned for proven scams are on social media.

3 Likes

Would be useful if there was a pinned blackball on banned seller list available to view on the forum.