How I Crack a PSA Case

Thought I would show a few things in this video in case others are interested:

1. How I crack cards out of a PSA case
  2. How I clean cards
  3. Show that those little white squares on some PSA cases are on the cases and not on the cards (some have questioned this)

Disclaimer: no cards were harmed in the making of this video and do this at your own risk!

vimeo.com/441885241/65439150aa

PS - I say in the video that maybe the card can get a 10… I will probably never re-grade it anyways but the card is honestly just a solid 9, even after I clean it.

19 Likes

Nice video! I really appreciate the cleaning tips. I have a few cards with spots of something on them but I have mostly been afraid to attempt to clean them.

I’m a newbie, but I’m curious why you would crack a high grade card to put in a binder. For regrading I totally understand but surely you paid quite a premium for the graded 9 over an ungraded NM-M card that would look just as nice in your binder.

2 Likes

I can see that becoming a 10 with a regrade, it’s definitely a strong 9. Nice cracking, man. One of the cleanest breaks I’ve seen.

2 Likes

Very nice! Do you offer a third party cracking service? I used to feel comfortable cracking for my binder, but had an expensive slip-up last year, where the pliers scraped a holo line across my Latias gold star 9. Since then my pile of “need to crack” cards has grown and I’m scared to touch them.

Thanks. First, on the cleaning, I would advise you try it first on a lower value card to get a feel for it. I’ve cleaned so many cards (other hobbies before Pokemon, namely MtG) over the years that I’ve gotten really comfortable with it. WOTC cards (esp the e-series) are not as fragile as you think, you just have to be really careful. Almost anything on the surface of the card can be cleaned off without risk to the card if you’re careful. It can make a huge difference.