Where to Start?

Hey all. I’ve been collecting Pokémon cards since about 2004, and only recently started collecting graded cards and taking it a bit more seriously in the past couple years. I came here to be instilled with a deeper knowledge about the market and worthwhile resources, as well as to find people with a common interest. But there is a ton of content here. Where should I start? What’s the next step?
Anyway, thanks in advance. Glad I found this forum.

5 Likes

Have a favourite pokemon or set?
Try focusing on a more specific thing first I guess

Welcome! How deep you want to get?! There are tons of holes you can find yourself in when looking to learn things in Pokemon collecting. I would suggest finding something you like to collect and go from there. Ask yourself some broad questions to start narrowing it down. You like newer or older sets? Any specific pokemon or generation? You nostalgic towards any type of cards or sets? Finding a cateory will be a good starting point. The articles, guides and resources section of the forum is a great place to scan through some in depth details in most categories. This will really show you how far you could go when looking for information!

efour.proboards.com/board/4/articles-guides-resources

You will certainly stumble across something you didn’t know before! (then proceed to spend hours looking up stuff when you needed to go to bed 2 hours ago)… :blush:

3 Likes

I would say start with the vintage WOTC stuff as supply is slowly drying up and give it a couple more years PSA 10 stuff will be harder to find for a suitable price.

2 Likes

Hey thank you! I definitely was up too late last night in the Articles Guides and Resources section. Lots of worthwhile information there. I love the Johto region! Most of my favorites come from that generation. 0ean is right though about hurrying with collecting WOTC cards, so now I know what I wanna do.

1 Like

This is where I am starting for my psa graded collecting.