What's your opinion on PSA 9 versus the GEM MT 10?

I’m getting close to finishing my binder collection goals now and have for a long while now (over a year) been thinking about continuing collecting cards but this time directing my focus towards the PSA graded cards. Since I’m completely new to this I’m wondering about your experience in collecting PSA graded cards. I’m not looking to sell any of the cards I’m buying so as long as they stay quite consistent I’ll be happy.

What specifically I’m wondering about is your thoughts about getting many PSA 9s or getting few PSA 10 cards? When you bought PSA 9s were they satisfying enough or did it feel like you should have saved up and bought fewer cards but in the grade 10?
If you mainly focus on 10s are there exceptions where you think getting more cards in 9 would be better?
If you like many cards in 9, are there exceptions where you think getting fewer cards but in 10 would be better?

Originally I was thinking of only going for 10s but when I compared cards like PSA 10 1st Ed Lapras for 630 USD to a PSA 9 1st Ed Lapras for 30 USD it made me really question if it really would be worth it for me to spend that extra 600 dollars just to get 1 higher grade.

I know that what I’m asking is subjective, but would appreciate anyone who shared their opinion/experience.

1 Like

It all depends on what fits your budget. Figure 10s should be from 4 to 10 times more.

I personally like to buy 9s. They are very close 10s with some minor flaws that for me doesn’t ruin the appeal at all and they are often much more cheaper than 10s. When I grade cards myself I of course prefer to get 10s but I have no problem getting 9s to my collection especially if it’s a card that I like a lot :blush:

2 Likes

10s all the way. If you’re happy with your binder cards then great. But any true collector wants the highest grade possible if available.

Make take more time to complete a set but worth it in the end.

2 Likes