Toploaders vs. Binders

I’m new to collecting and am trying to decide between storing my rarer cards in toploaders or binders. I’m leaning towards toploaders, because when looking at my cards, I like to flip through cards one at a time without being distracted by other cards.

Anyone have a preference for one storage method over the other, and what’s the rationale behind it?

As far as optimal card preservation is concerned, both methods are fine (if used/stored correctly). It just depends on how you prefer to view your collection.

Personally, I prefer viewing my collection in binders.

3 Likes

I prefer binders for viewing my modern/full art collection because that’s the way I set it up, it’s all colour coordinated/ordered by date of release and everything haha. As for everything else, I used to use top loaders and they’re still fine, they do the trick and you can put them in team bags if you’re really keen on it. However I moved to semi rigids because they save so much space. Literally cut down the amount of storage I needed by ~50% when I was done moving everything into them. I live in a pretty cool and dry place so humidity isn’t a concern and I monitor/control it with silica packets and a sensor.

Nothing quite beats the satisfaction of flipping through a binder of cards you’ve procured over the years, it’s just so aesthetically pleasing, accessible, easy to transport, and store. Graded cards are more difficult to store/display and take out to marvel at most of time (for me at least) and I have the personal belief that graded cards are more so to maintain or increase the monetary value of your cards for when you sell them down the road. Although, I’m the type of collector who doesn’t plan to sell the majority of their cards, at least not in the near future.