PSA Grade with Most Room for Growth

I am just getting back into collecting, specifically Base through Destiny, and as I am reading up on the investment side of Pokemon TCG Collecting I have had one question go somewhat unanswered: Which PSA grade has the most potential for growth in the market? A tall order, perhaps even unanswerable. Still, it seems that PSA 8, 9, and 10 are where “serious” collectors spend their time and money. I’m by no means an expert in economics, but I assume this would drive down the prices of PSA 5, 6, and 7, in the short term at least.

Clearly, PSA 8 - 10 will always be the most expensive, but the people who desire those top tier cards will spend just about anything on those cards. But your average collector most likely doesn’t have the resources to do the same. And since there are more and more people collecting I’d assume PSA 5 - 7 could see a larger amount of growth in the years to come relative to where their prices are currently.

Just a thought. What do you think?

I think PSA 9…lower price so much more of a market for them and most look almost the same as a 10

2 Likes

I think the answer is really dependent on which cards we are talking about. My answer would be very different if we were talking about 1st ed base vs base set 2 vs Japanese neo destiny vs modern rainbow rare cards.

8 Likes

On the old stuff 7-9, new stuff is hard to say. Modern 9s sell for dirt cheap.

The one with the highest demand and lowest supply.

1 Like

This is just my opinion, but I think PSA 7 is the best way to invest for the future growth in this hobby. All PSA 10’s will become scarce and out of reach for the average collector in a few years. The 8-9’s will follow suit. This leaves the PSA 7’s, still an excellent card to have, affordable now, and will increase in value gradually over time. Making it more desirable for the average collector. Most people would be more than happy to own a copy of a PSA 7 1st edition Charizard.

6 Likes