New to Collecting - How to fund a collection?

Hey fellow collectors,

I am new to the forum, and I tried to post this in the most relevant place I could. If there is a better place to ask this question, then please forgive me!

I am relatively new to collecting pokemon cards. I got into it the past few years after learning about PSA grading which to me gives a nice way to store and showcase the cards. Unfortunately, I had gotten rid of all of my cards from when I was a kid which included some base set, fossil, jungle etc. Since starting collecting, I have sent some things off to PSA and I really enjoy the hobby. One day I hope to have a full high graded set of base set 1st edition, unique cards, etc.

This brings me to my question. Collecting is not cheap, and I fairly quickly find myself looking for ways to grade more cards, buy more cards, etc. I understand that collecting does take time, but I was also curious as to if anybody had any suggestions about how to fund a collection? For example, do you sell parts of your collection to fund other parts or do you just simply budget carefully?

Again, I really am just starting out so any advice related to this topic or just general advice to a newbie is definitely appreciated!

I look forward to reading everyoneā€™s responses. Thanks for having this awesome ā€œfourumā€ for us to be able to discuss this hobby that we all love, and thanks for letting me be a part of it! :blush:

1 Like

Just collect raw cards in binders and only splash out for cards which are genuinely scarce or rare.

You save money, space and most importantly your time.

The one thing you need to remember is that WotC holos are not rare outside of 1st, Shadowless, 1st Neo Destiny and e-series holos and crystals.

When it comes down to the financial perspective you need to prioritize well. Pokemon cards are a luxury and while people can treat it as an investment vehicle thereā€™s not many WotC set cards which can really be considered good investments.