How do you justify a high-end purchase?

I’m curious to hear people’s thoughts on this as I’ve been seeing some people dropping crazy numbers for cards.

I use a 15% rule to make purchases. Let me clarify: I will make a purchase no larger than 15% of my current funds. To roll this back as an example and why I made this rule in the first place, it works like this:

Years ago, I had the opportunity to purchase a SNAP Gyarados for $2000 USD. In order to justify the purchase, I would need around $12,000 in my bank. I was a student back then with little money. I had funds available to make the purchase but would have had very little left and didn’t feel like I could justify endangering my well-being for a card. So I passed it up.

Growing up poor has made me view money and collecting differently than I imagine it has for other people. So when I see people buying cards that are 4 to 5 figures, I wonder how other people justify the purchase.

So what systems or rules of purchase do you use, if any? If you’re making a risky and large purchase, how do you consider the pros and cons?

Because in the end, we’re all collectors of cardboard and pretty colors, so how do others justify their purchases for high-end cards?

23 Likes

“The money doesn’t count the same if it comes from selling other cards” has been my somewhat illogical but rather common mindset ; separate card selling profit from regular savings.

9 Likes

When I make a significant purchase for my collection (not just Pokemon cards), I literally practice the mental exercise of imagining the money burning, and ask myself, do I need that money for something else in my present or future, or my family’s present or future?

1. So, if you can set fire to $x amount and it won’t create a significant negative effect to your present… or future… quality of life, it’s an ok purchase.