Could this be an albino card?

Hey guys!

I have this Flaeron (JU 19) for as long as I can remember now, and I’ve always been wondering why it is the way it is and if this makes it, you know, any special.

I’ve read up on albino cards (the very few mentions of them there are) and perhaps this qualifies (or at least it’s a misprint). I’m thankful for any thoughts you have :blush: and have a nice day!

This looks like it’s sunfaded (based on samples I’ve seen)

1 Like

Some more pics with a fire card, so you can see the differences

Huh, you may be right… does the fading occur this consistent all over the card? No one other card in my collection has this effect or anything similar… of course, it could be just that.

Im no professional but it doesnt look sunfaded to me. Maybe send it to cgc and see what they say

Thanks for your input - I’m in the EU so any grading is quite the commitment to believing it’s worth it (then again, it’s expensive anywhere) so I’m not sure. But it’s definitely nice to hear that maybe it’s not just fading :blush:

1 Like

Turns out I’m not alone - I managed to find this on Reddit, with someone having a bunch of these pink bordered cards, including my Flaeron - note they’re also all from Jungle!

reddit.com/r/pokemoncardcollectors/comments/jezedc/pink_bordered_cards/

Seems like people either don’t know or assume sun damage - in a previous attempt of me finding out (a whole 5 years ago), someone else believed this was something they’d come across at some point:

reddit.com/r/pokemon/comments/5cexa5/_/d9w7oyz/?context=1

… don’t read too much into the comments, I was a kid :stuck_out_tongue:

The only other possible connection, although the cards look quite different, is this thread about sun damaged cards: www.elitefourum.com/t/is-this-a-printing-error/20705/1

Edit: … seems the reddit post / image may contain sun damaged cards, note the Pidgeot’s south border.