Is grading with anyone who aren't PSA stupid?

Hi there,

I’m just starting out and was planning on waiting till July for PSA to open their doors.

I understand that PSA are so established that in Pokemon terms they still command a premium because of it - secondly, that BGS / CGC / PCA all seem to grade harsher than PSA. So you get a less desirable slab at a lower grade…

BUT

The PSA slab is bigger, more annoying to store, massive turn around times, they’re not open until July, shipping costs to the UK are expensive… I also think the Slab is ugly as.

Ultimately, if its my own private collection to keep, then what looks prettier is important, I’m currently reading the 66 page threads on some of the competitors, but would anyone recommend abandoning PSA from the start of their pokemon adventure?

Hi, welcome to the boards!

You’re brave asking a question like this! :stuck_out_tongue:

General consensus is that PSA is the fastest way to maximise your profits,and to many people, it always will be. Personally, I see that as a short sighted view that gives PSA waaaay too much credit.

It’s true that some of the other grading companies do seem to grade more harshly, but that should be a strike against PSA, since the likes of CGC and BGS are far more consistent with their standards (moreso the higher grades with BGS), and are generally more reliable.

If you’re looking to grade for your personal collection though, forget what anyone says; just choose the slabs YOU like best.

I own slabs from a bunch of different companies, and prefer CGC overall for their crystal clear cases and clear, unabbreviated labels. Don’t be afraid to mix and match, or try different companies out yourself though.

Whoever you decide to go with, as another UK collector, I’d recommend middlemen to reduce your costs for submitting to the US based companies:

PSA - GradedGem
CGC - Ed’s Gaming Emporium
BGS - Black Label Grading