How do you not get burned out of pokemon card collecting?

Hey, I’ve been collecting for a few months now and I was wondering how do you guys not get burned out on collecting. It may be me and my obsession to get good deals right now to try and protect myself more if a retrace happens but it seems to me I always seem to get burned on Buying items. Just Yesterday I was about to buy a charizard ex for 250 and then he mentioned he had like 6 other ex’s 4 of which I didn’t have. Offered 450 bucks. Didn’t hear back from him for a couple of hours, and then he told he sold it to a “store” all for 500. You guessed it hours later I see the exact cards listed on ebay for around 1500 dollars in total. So I ended up getting burned from a deal for the guy to sell to a flipper. This stuff has happened to me several times in just in just a few months and I was wondering how do you keep yourself motivated to keep collecting after stuff like that, and continue looking on ebay everyday to see the same over priced ripped up cards 95% the time, or see items on ebay shill bidded. Just wondering how yall do it, or do you buy at whatever market value you see on ebay usually. Also when do you think its a good time to take a break from collecting, if ever. Thanks!

3 Likes

Take what you can get, I think everyone feels bad when they miss out on something.

I did have to take a break for a few months after I missed a big deal since it affected my mental too much, so I know how you feel.

11 Likes

Genuine interest and love for the hobby. It’s that simple.

Yeah, it sucks that you didn’t get your cards, but that’s life. Those types of things will happen regardless of what you’re doing. You can’t let it affect you too much.

If you truly love Pokemon, you’ll stay engaged no matter what.