Have you ever left the hobby? How was it?

I’ve been collecting since 2016. I set some collection goals then and I’m pretty close to finish them off, but now that I’m almost done with the objectives that got me to collect in the first place, I’m not sure what I’ll do next.

On the one hand, I’m super happy with what I’ve managed to collect and I really enjoy the hobby (I listen to podcasts, I read you all here, I watch Youtube videos…). On the other hand, I’ve spent more money that I initially wanted and the hobby has become much more expensive than what it was when I started collecting.

So… I’ve been thinking about two options:

a) I finish my goals and leave the hobby.
b) I finish and I keep being engaged, buying singles that I like and that are within my means.

I’m yet to decide, but I was curious to know if any of you has ever left the hobby and come back after some time. If so, did you regret having left the hobby for a while? Were there any major downsides or benefits? What would be your advice for your “past self” who left the hobby?

3 Likes

I left the hobby for ~1-2 years. I’d say the major downside is that it took me a while to get back to the same level of enjoyment I had prior to leaving. I’d personally go with B

2 Likes

I stopped buying cards for about a year, but I just got bored and came back and bought some nice looking cheap raw holos. When I got them in hand it kinda re-lit the flame and I set new goals for myself and it’s just been downhill since then lmao

Now, I don’t really have one big goal (apart from that buzzwole buy thread I made please go check it out if you have it @ anyone). I just go on ebay and buy whatever I like. It’s a lot more stress free, and I’m having the most fun in the hobby that I’ve ever had

4 Likes