Worlds 2023 Duolingo progress

Less than a year till world’s in Yokohama!

Anyone else download the app to get fluent before then? :blush:

11 Likes

Good idea! I don’t think I’ll be fluent by then but hopefully enough so to get from A to B :sweat_smile:.

2 Likes

Aim high :rocket::stars: lol

The app has a follow function to hold people accountable. Additionally there is a “family plan” where multiple people can share a paid subscription

I find the app is really helpful. I got nearly the entire ひらがな character system down in one day :dizzy_face:

3 Likes

I started studying japanese about 4 years ago. Worlds would be a perfect excuse to finally go there. Would just have to get over the fear of flying. :laughing:

1 Like

Duolingo is a great app, but I would temper your expectations. I’ve found that it only goes so far if you don’t have a native speaker to interact with in real time. :melting_face:

3 Likes

That’s step 2 :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Great plan! :smiley:

That, and some of its instruction is… questionable, especially for Japanese. I like it for practicing my kanji and reading comprehension (the curse of frequently speaking but rarely reading a language), but sometimes the sentence structure sounds off or awkward.

The Genki workbooks are a really great resource in conjunction with apps like Duolingo for learning Japanese, and I think they help clarify the language quite a bit. (Especially if finding a friend to speak with is difficult)

I’ve never attempted to learn Japanese, but I imagine finding a good app to learn kanji is half the battle.

1 Like

Doing my best here!

4 Likes

Easy way to remember- they follow the same shape as the hiragana :slight_smile: same with “so” and “n” once you get there too!

1 Like